Image

7:55 AM / Monday March 1, 2021

23 Nov 2011

Regina King, Star of TNT’s acclaimed series “Southland,” to serve as SAG Awards Social Media Ambassador

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
November 23, 2011 Category: Entertainment Posted by:

LOS ANGELES- Regina King, star of TNT’s critically acclaimed drama series “Southland,” will serve as social media ambassador for the 18th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® airing live on TNT and TBS Sunday, Jan. 29. Through posts on Twitter and Facebook, King will serve as the online face for the awards, giving viewers unprecedented access to behind-the-scenes moments during the weeks building up to the show, as well as from the red carpet.

 

King’s duties as the SAG Awards® social media ambassador will kick off when she announces this year’s nominations on Wednesday, Dec. 14, at 9 a.m. (ET)/6 a.m. (PT), telecast live on TNT and online at tnt.tv and tbs.com.

 

During the six weeks leading up to the Jan. 29 simulcast of the award ceremony, King will continue to tweet and post about the SAG Awards, including updates on presenters and fashion. She will also post updates during rehearsals and provide her thoughts and insights from the red carpet on the big night.

 

In “Southland,” which returns for its fourth season beginning Tuesday, Jan. 17, at 10 p.m. (ET/PT), King plays Lydia Adams, a smart and perceptive LAPD detective who often finds herself becoming emotionally invested in the cases she handles. In March 2011, King earned the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series for her performance in “Southland.”

 

King was nominated for a SAG Award as a member of the cast in the film “Ray,” for which she won an NAACP Image Award. Her extensive screen credits include “Jerry Maguire,” “How Stella Got Her Groove Back,” “Enemy of the State,” “Boyz n the Hood,” “Poetic Justice,” “Higher Learning,” “Our Family Wedding,” “Year of the Dog,” “This Christmas,” “Miss Congeniality 2: Armed and Fabulous,” “A Cinderella Story,” “Daddy Day Care,” “Mighty Joe Young,” “Legally Blonde 2: Red, White and Blonde,” “Friday, Down to Earth” and “A Thin Line Between Love and Hate”. She also provided the voice of Kreela in the animated film “Ant Bully.” For television, she starred in the movies “Living Proof” and “If These Walls Could Talk 2” and supplied the voices of Huey and Riley for the animated series “The Boondocks.”

 

TNT and TBS’s live simulcast of the 18th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will take place Sunday, Jan. 29, 2012, at 8 p.m. (ET), 5 p.m. (PT), 7 p.m. (CT) and 6 p.m. (MT). West Coast viewers who prefer to watch in primetime will be able to catch the encore presentation on TNT at 7 p.m. (PT) / 10 p.m. (ET).

 

Image

Of the top industry honors presented to performers, only the Screen Actors Guild Awards are voted on solely by actors’ peers in the Screen Actors Guild. The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show created by a union to honor the work of actors and the first to present ensemble and cast awards. The SAG Awards nominees are chosen by separate film and television nominating committees, each consisting of 2,100 SAG members from around the country, randomly selected anew each year. All active members of Screen Actors Guild are eligible to vote for the final Actor recipients.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Leave a Comment

Recent News

Commentary

Frustration among good intentions

February 25, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email By George Burrell In 2010, after interviewing 1600 CEOs, IBM concluded new thinking...

Health

Enrollment at US community colleges plummets amid pandemic

February 25, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email ABOVE PHOTO: Peniella Irakoze poses for a photo on campus during a break...

Entertainment

Chadwick Boseman, Daniel Kaluuya win Golden Globes, Complete list of winners

March 1, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email LOS ANGELES (AP) — Complete list of winners at the 78th annual Golden...

Color Of Money

Children’s Scholarship Fund Philadelphia distributes over $1 million in tuition aid to K-8th grade students in need

February 25, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email The education nonprofit’s COVID-19 Emergency Tuition Fund distributed more than 1,500 grants. Children’s...

Go With The-Flo

Marsai Martin is honored with the Rising Star Award at the 38th Annual Caucus Awards

February 25, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email ABOVE PHOTO: Marsai Martin   (Photo: Kathy Hutchins / Shutterstock) By Florence Anthony...

Horoscopes

SUNscopes for the week of February 28

February 25, 2021

Tweet Share Pin Email All Signs: This week fiery Mars enters Gemini to stay until April 23....

The Philadelphia Sunday Sun Staff