12:25 PM / Friday November 17, 2017

28 Apr 2017

Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine celebrates legacies of MLK, alumnus William King

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
April 28, 2017 Category: Diaspora Posted by:

ABOVE PHOTO:  2017 PCOM/SNMA Award recipients  (Photo courtesy: PCOM)

Jay S. Feldstein, DO, president and CEO, PCOM with Rev. Warnock. (Photo courtesy: PCOM)

Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine’s (PCOM) Office of Diversity and Compliance and chapter of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) held its third annual awards dinner and ceremony on Friday, April 21. Titled “The Dream Meets Tomorrow’s Leaders,” the event was held to honor students, alumni, faculty and staff who embody the lives and legacies of civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., and of alumnus William M. King, DO, who worked tirelessly to improve the lives of his patients and the larger Philadelphia Community.

Matthew Montgomery DO (left), winner of the Meta L. Christy award; Rev. Dr. Raphael Gamaliel Warnock, PhD, of the historic Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlana (center); Arthur Evans, PhD, former commissioner of Philadelphia’s Department of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services, and current CEO of the American Psychological Association.
(Photo courtesy: PCOM)

The evening’s keynote speaker was Rev. Dr. Raphael Gamaliel Warnock, PhD, who has served as the senior pastor of the historic Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta, Georgia — the spiritual home of Martin Luther King Jr. — for more than 12 years. At 35, he became the fifth and the youngest person ever to serve as senior pastorate of that church, which was founded in 1886.

This year’s award recipients were:



    Kevin Amuquandoh (MS/Biomed ’17): SNMA Biomedical Sciences Student of the Year

    Chinyere Ebo (DO/MBA ’ 18): SNMA Fourth-Year DO Student of the Year

    Obianuju Egwuonwu (DO ’ 19): SNMA Elton Cosby Jr. Student of the Year

    Margaretta Gergen (DO ’ 19): SNMA Second-Year DO Student of the Year

    Ifeanyi James (DO ’ 20): William M. King, DO ‘62 Scholarship

    Odelia McFadden(PsyD ’19): Student of Merit

    Ali Mohammed (DO ’ 20): William M. King, DO ‘62 Award

    Kerby Rauscher (DO ’ 20): SNMA First-Year DO Student of the Year

    Sydney Walker (DO ’ 18): SNMA Third-Year DO Student of the Year


    Arthur Evans, PhD, clinical professor, psychology: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award

    Meshonea Fox, administrative coordinator, Student Affairs: Mentor of the Year

    Pat Lannutti, DO ’71, professor and chair, Division of General Internal Medicine: Outstanding Faculty

   Suzanne Walker-Garland, office manager, Family Medicine at PCOM: Outstanding Staff Award


    Matthew Montgomery DO ’ 09: Meta L. Christy Award

    Beverly White, PsyD ’04: Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Leave a Comment

Recent News

Go With The-Flo

CeCe Winans accepts the Spirit Award at Lisa Collins’ 20th Annual “First Ladies High Tea”

November 16, 2017

ABOVE PHOTO:  CeCe Winans (Photo: Jamie Lamor Thompson / Shutterstock)   By Florence Anthony Lisa Collins’ 20th...


Savvy Senior: Assistance dogs provide help and love

November 16, 2017

Dear Savvy Senior What can you tell me about assistance dogs for people with disabilities? My sister,...

Food And Beverage

A Very Versatile Holiday

November 16, 2017

ABOVE PHOTO:  Cola and Brown Sugar Glazed Ham   Family Features When planning this year’s holiday menu,...


Debate over Ken Burns Civil War doc continues over decades

November 16, 2017

By Hillel Italie associated press NEW YORK — From the time it aired nearly 30 years ago,...


Simple ways to follow a low-glycemic eating plan for better health

November 16, 2017

BPT Adopting a diet that mainly consists of foods ranking low on the Glycemic Index (GI) can...


God won’t let you be defeated

November 16, 2017

By Dianna Hobbs In my most recent YouTube family vlog (I love that you’re subscribing!), as I...

The Philadelphia Sunday Sun Staff